.

Buford Restaurant Suspended After Score of 61

Kani House had scored a 59 a week earlier.

Buford-area restaurant inspections
Buford-area restaurant inspections
The health department is tasked with ensuring restaurant compliance with applicable health and safety regulations. The following restaurant scores are the result of recent inspections of Buford restaurants posted on the Gwinnett Health Department website

Click on the link to view inspection reports.

Recent health department scores from restaurants near Buford:

Kani House

  • Location: 3208 Buford Drive
  • Score: 61/U
  • Date of report: Oct. 27, 2013
  • Previous scores: 59/U (10/21/13); 82/B (8/23/13)
  • Permit suspended for second consecutive failing score.
  • See entire inspection report

Montego Grill

  • Location: 1570 Buford Highway
  • Score: 85/B
  • Date of report: Oct. 29, 2013
  • Previous scores: 91/A (2/1/13); 96/A (9/25/12)
  • See entire inspection report

Subway

Puckett’s Restaurant

  • Location: 4360 South Lee Street
  • Score: 88/B
  • Date of report: Oct. 29, 2013
  • Previous scores: 86/B (1/28/13); 85/B (8/28/12)
  • See entire inspection report

Ruby Tuesday, Mall of Georgia

  • Location: 3333 Buford Drive, Suite 2020
  • Score: 100/A
  • Date of report: Oct. 29, 2013
  • Previous scores: 95/A (4/12/13); 100/A (2/5/13)
  • See entire inspection report 

Tilted Kilt Pub and Eatery

  • Location: 3480 Financial Center Way, Suite M1070
  • Score: 87/B
  • Date of report: Oct. 29. 2013
  • Previous scores: 88/B (5/2/13); 99/A (2/21/13)
  • See entire inspection report

 

Burger King

  • Location: 4105 Georgia Highway 20
  • Score: 100/A
  • Date of report: Oct. 28, 2013
  • Previous scores: 95/A (10/11/13); 78/C (10/8/13)
  • See entire inspection report

Golden Corral

  • Location: 4020 Buford Drive
  • Score: 97/A
  • Date of report: Oct. 28, 2013
  • Previous scores: 96/A (2/22/13); 95/A (10/31/12)
  • See entire inspection report
Cindy Chingo November 04, 2013 at 07:26 AM
So why was Kani House open and serving customers this weekend?
Roy Park November 04, 2013 at 06:06 PM
I am the GM at Kani House in the Buford location. I would like to inform everyone that we were closed for half of the day to educate and inform our employees on proper procedures. The score of the inspection was not due to any contamination of food that can cause food borne illnesses. We have implemented rules and a more detailed checklist to ensure that all employees are following mandatory procedures of properly handling food. I would also like to state lastly that we were critiqued for the facility's natural wear and tear which all maintenance are completed.
Cindy Chingo November 04, 2013 at 06:38 PM
Glad you took the second failed inspection seriously. It should have been taken care of after the first bad score. As customers, we expect that the environment in which we eat, as well as the food we are paying for, is top notch, safe, and prepared in a clean environment.
Cowboy November 05, 2013 at 07:16 AM
Cindy is right, They should have taken the first one more seriously. Roy, the problem is not your employees... It's you... You are responsible for all that goes on there, the buck stops with you, sure, re-educate your employee's, but also start to take your job more seriously as well as. if we read your post, we will see that when you made the statement that "The score of the inspection was not due to any contamination of food that can cause food borne illnesses" try reading section 4.1A on the health report, (storing raw meat over ready to eat foods) also how about section 13A, not posting you current score. When you purposely hide your current score from us because it's low with another one from the past, you yourself made those decisions.. not your employee's.. Why is it that every owner/manager blame their employee's.
Roy Park November 07, 2013 at 01:25 PM
Yes i completely agree with, any issue always starts with the top (management). I would like to defend myself only in saying that the previous management did not take it serious enough, which is why myself and other managers were brought in to correct the situation. I would not like to make any excuses for the mistakes that were made, only to focus on up - keeping and maintaining an A score on the future inspections. I can proudly say that we have corrected the mistakes and received a 97. Also, i would like to thank everyone who took the time to read these post and leave their feedback. Thank you.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »