.

Obama Campaign Poster: Offensive or Clever?

The poster has the Obama-Biden logo replacing the stars in the Stars and Stripes.

For sale on the Barack Obama campaign website: a print of the American flag -- with the Obama-Biden campaign logo replacing the stars.

According to store.barackobama.com, the print, called "Our Stripes: Country Print," is $35. The website description reads, "Screen print designed by Ross Bruggink and Dan Olson of Studio MPLS. Limited edition (250 units), hand-numbered, 24'' x 36'' and made in the USA."

The overall flag image is in the outline of the continental 48 states, but appears not to include Alaska or Hawaii, the president's birthplace.

The design has provoked some controversy online.

According to foxnews.com, reaction on sites like Twitter and Facebook has been very negative.

“This is so offensive,” one reader wrote. “I don’t know why I’m shocked, but I am. This stoops to new lows.”

In Atlanta, syndicated radio host Neal Boortz is not impressed.

"What a jerk," Boortz wrote on his Facebook page. "Honestly, can anyone cite any other instance where an American president has altered our flag with either his image or his campaign logo?"

How do you feel about this development? Do you feel President Obama is being disrespectful of the American flag when he alters its image for campaign purposes? Tell us in the comments below.

Jim Aspen September 22, 2012 at 12:32 PM
It is offensive.
John B September 22, 2012 at 01:01 PM
It's neither offensive or clever. It's not newsworthy. I'm thinking there are other topics that carry much more weight that could be discussed. As far as relevance, this blog rivals the Kardashians. You can do better Patch.
Jan Kennedy September 22, 2012 at 02:33 PM
OFFENSIVE! Just similar enough to make the "Obamites" like it - and just different enough to look ridiculous to those who really care about our American flag and what it stands for....
suzanne September 22, 2012 at 02:44 PM
B.O MUST GO!
American Justice September 22, 2012 at 02:55 PM
You just don't get it, do you?
Sharon Swanepoel September 22, 2012 at 03:23 PM
Brian, Brian, how can you say that. We try so hard to keep the balance here - we quote equally from sources supposedly with a bias on either side of this spectrum. That way we give the other side, as you just did, the opportunity to point out these things. :) Since we've been criticized for leaning too far left by some, this makes me feel a little better. Thank you for that!
Kristi Reed (Editor) September 22, 2012 at 03:29 PM
I agree with Sharon. After months of Patch ads inviting me to celebrate the President's birthday and have dinner with him and the First Lady, I figured everyone would think we were definitely left leaning. You have eased my mind in that regard Brian.
Brian Crawford September 22, 2012 at 03:42 PM
Hahaha...must just be the local flavor.
Brian Crawford September 22, 2012 at 03:51 PM
This is actually part of a print collection called "Artists for Obama". I just ordered my copy, it'll look great on he wall of my Obama shrine. You can get yours here: https://store.barackobama.com/obama-2012-store-collections/artists-for-obama/our-stripes-country-print.html
David September 22, 2012 at 03:59 PM
I suspect its a representation of our new flag after the election. Arrogant Obooboo will be announcing that change during his acceptance speech.
Healthmd September 23, 2012 at 04:52 AM
I just uploaded a Lincoln campaign flag from the library of Congress. I think the outrage over this styled flag is overboard, if not ridiculous. Please google images for "stylized american flag" and you'll see several cool designs that you probably have in your closet stamped in one of your tee shirts that you proudly wore on 4th of July.
Troy Hardcase September 24, 2012 at 01:48 PM
This is the typical response of the cult like worshipping by the Obama "moonies" that he can do nothing wrong despite the facts that he has done very little right. The pic shown has a total of 9 stripes, 5 red/4 white (the white ones count too) by the way, 6? Pay a little attention to the topic at hand, please? The Grateful Dead have a nice version of "Steal your Face" and the flag, but they aren't running for President. I see that with the blind following of people nowadays how Hitler and Mussolini came to power.
Grant September 24, 2012 at 02:11 PM
I'll just leave this here for Troy http://marfapublicradio.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/republican-national-convention-logo-500x500.jpg The "poutrage" over this non issue is what is so "typical"... enjoy yourself !
Sharon Swanepoel September 24, 2012 at 02:55 PM
In truth, some of the issues that have come up in this campaign do seem a little out there. This one from the Huffington Post although I have to admit, I haven't seen it get too much traction outside of the extreme blogs. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/09/20/mitt-romney-dyed-face-brown-fake-tan-univision_n_1900707.html Quote from Huffington Post. "Mitt Romney appeared on Univision Wednesday alongside Jorge Ramos and Maria Elena Salinas, but something was a little peculiar about his appearance -- his skin tone. Looking back at the hundreds of photos logging his every moment on the campaign trail, the Republican presidential nominee is usually not so shockingly tan. While his orangey-brown appearance on Univision could have been the result of bad lighting or a makeup mishap, left-wing blog the Democratic Underground concluded that Romney "dyed his face brown for his Univision interview.""
Ryan Smith (Editor) September 24, 2012 at 03:11 PM
Sharon, That's actually been getting a lot of play in the late-night monologues, but you're right -- It makes for a good joke, I don't think too many serious journalists are going to bother with it too much.
Brian Crawford September 24, 2012 at 03:30 PM
You have to admit he does look a little like Ricardo Montalbon in those pictures. Hahaha. Here's the difference between the political Left and Right: The Left reports this in an almost tongue in cheek "I wouldn't put it past him" way and let's it go with a wink wink nudge nudge. The right would have already produced a Jerome Corsi book and a James O'Keefe undercover video on the subject.
MDG September 25, 2012 at 05:38 PM
I am a stickler for respectful uses of the flag myself. However, these sections of the US Code have been ignored for decades (good or bad, I don’t know). We seen the US Flag and/or Stars/Stripes used in so much that violates the code… Motorcycle helmets, flag beach towels, disposable cups. Also, look at the logos of the parties – don’t they use the Stars/Stripes in the animal designs? Heck, even our beloved American characture “Uncle Sam” is a violation of this code. 99.9999% of millions of usage of US Flag and/or Stars/Stripes themes is intended in respectful ways. I don’t see the above image as a violation, but others may.
Toni Gianelli September 25, 2012 at 11:31 PM
Did you protest when Reagan Bush did it? How about Sarah Palin? ABE LINCOLN? Or only when President Obama's campaign did it?
Toni Gianelli September 25, 2012 at 11:32 PM
https://www.google.com/search?num=10&hl=en&site=imghp&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=1454&bih=760&q=reagan+bush+flag&oq=reagan+bush+flag&gs_l=img.12...1099.5249.0.6502.16.12.0.4.1.0.89.808.12.12.0...0.0...1ac.1.U9TjA14PWdM#hl=en&site=imghp&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=CAMPAIGN+FLAG&oq=CAMPAIGN+FLAG&gs_l=img.3..0i5i24l4.72137.77854.0.78501.18.18.0.0.0.2.172.2061.4j14.18.0...0.0...1c.1.C-0UvQF1kxg&pbx=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.&fp=8d113ec3ed4301e9&biw=1454&bih=760 g o o g l e
Pittsburgh Paul September 26, 2012 at 01:53 AM
Tony, Thanks for jumping in, but why waste our time with two comments that have already been vetted several times?? At least take the time to read all the thread before sticking your finger in my face - I clearly stated that I am offended by anyone, wait for it... yes, even the Republicans and good 'ol Abe who use the flag or representation of the flag for personal gain or satisfaction. Sorry to burst your bubble, but I don't care who sleeps in the White House as long as they recognize their duty to hold themselves and the rest of this Marion's citizens accountable for honoring our country and its national symbol!
Pittsburgh Paul September 26, 2012 at 01:56 AM
Check that, I apologize for the misspelling of your name Toni. And dang the auto correct - it's not Marion's citizens, it's our nation's citizens....
Bonnie September 27, 2012 at 06:18 PM
I think it's offensive and more than a wee bit egotistical.
Jeanne Kelly September 27, 2012 at 08:33 PM
Amen. I'm so glad that there are intelligent Americans that know right from wrong. God Bless the USA!
Andrew Andrews September 27, 2012 at 09:33 PM
So many comments about "disrespect." Is anyone as angry as I am over that fool Boortz having the nerve to call our sitting President a "jerk?" Like him or not, agree with his policies or not, for as long as this country has been in existence, the Office of the President and its current and prior occupants have been respected for their service. It's unfortunate that the only way for Boortz and others like him to remain in the spotlight is to push the shock button.
Bobby Sargent September 27, 2012 at 09:43 PM
Obama does not Respect the American Flag~ He has Openly Refused to wear a American Flag Lapel Pin~ He has Covered up The American Flag on Air Force 1 with His Logo, That is Not His Plane and America is Not his Country! His Definition of Government is not the same as Ordinary Citizens. He believes The Servants Serve The Government~ we Believe We Are the Government and We are No ones Servant! The government is Ran By US For Us, This Failure is a Insult For All Who Have Fought and Died For this Flag and It is not a Joke like Obama is!
Bobby Sargent September 27, 2012 at 09:46 PM
Really? i guess you werent around when Bush was the President! They said a lot worse about Him, Way worse! I think you are being way overly sensitive, you are.
Bobby Sargent September 27, 2012 at 10:00 PM
send me one, i'll be sure to burn it!
NJ4America September 27, 2012 at 10:03 PM
WRONG! http://www.snopes.com/politics/obama/airplane.asp
Gail Lane September 27, 2012 at 10:36 PM
Arrrgh. Not the airplane silliness again. **sigh** This kind of silly demonizing based on partial truths blown grossly out of proportion makes the Republican party in general look petty and not at all focused on real problems.
rstjusrtj4wetysdf December 29, 2012 at 06:59 AM
http://www.coachoutletonlinebfd.com/ Coach Outlet Online http://www.guccibeltstb.com/ Gucci Belts ahttp://www.coachoutletonlinebfd.com/ Coach Outlet Online http://www.guccibeltstb.com/ Gucci Belts http://www.coachoutletonlinetdy.com/ Coach Factory Online

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something